some dsl modem and router question's

General system trouble. Software, hardware related. NOT for infection assistance.

Moderators: JeanInMontana, rockingmtranch, ShadowPuterDude, admin, MysteryFCM, Owner

User avatar
lurkingatu2
I Joined Up
I Joined Up
Posts: 487
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 9:39 pm
Location: oregon

some dsl modem and router question's

Postby lurkingatu2 » Mon May 12, 2008 12:06 pm

well the phone company put dsl in where i live and my mom got it for me and i hooked it up friday this is all new to me
i'v only ever had dialup and wow what i'v been missing

this connection is with Qwest and 1.5mbps and i got lucky and my dad paid for the modem for me or i would still be on dialup
my family is not in good health and my dad or no one else could get through to my mom when i was on dialup so this is a good thing

the modem i got is from Qwest it's a Actiontec m1000 and has a built in firewall that i found out how to get to the settings for
with no help from Qwest thay could of sent info for the modem and said something about the firewall but at least i read about it
before i got it but who would of known to put a number in the address bar of ie to get to the settings

ok i'm not sure what to put the modem firewall setting on so right now i got it on medium or would it be better on high ?

my dad also gave me a Linksys wrt54g wireless broadband router and a Linksys wusb54gc usb adapter so i can hookup
my other pc and i know that the router has a firewall also so i doin't know if i should use both the modem firewall and the
router one at the sametime ? and i would think the software one is still ok to use

also i need to keep both pc's away from each other i doin't want to share files because my old pc was used and the other
pc i got new out of the box so can i block them from each other when using the router

this is all new to me i'v been reading for over week about all this and and i'v got this far my head is spinning and i needed to ask someone for some help please the info i find on the web doin't answer what i need to know lol


thanks :)
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2gb Memory Winxp MCE sp3
Avast IS
Malwarebites
Superantispyware Pro
Sandboxie

User avatar
JeanInMontana
It's Mine!!
It's Mine!!
Posts: 3331
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:10 am
Location: South Central Montana
Contact:

Re: some dsl modem and router question's

Postby JeanInMontana » Mon May 12, 2008 12:43 pm

I have Qwest also and rent the modem this way they pay for anything that goes wrong. LOL and I have had one fry in a storm.

I have never messed with the firewall settings. I don't rely one that firewall for protection at all, I still use OnlneArmor. Once you do DSL you can never go back to dial up.
~Think Globally * Dream Universally~Anon
ImageImageImage Donating any amount helps keep this site alive.

User avatar
lurkingatu2
I Joined Up
I Joined Up
Posts: 487
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 9:39 pm
Location: oregon

Re: some dsl modem and router question's

Postby lurkingatu2 » Wed May 21, 2008 12:12 am

well it looks like my modem can upgrade to a wi-fi router from qwest for $20 bucks
for the module so maby thats why it has a firewall

the guy from qwest said that i could run the modem firewall and use the router but
it might slowdown my connection

also i turned off file and printer sharing in my network connections on both pc's
i doin't have a printer and i doin't need to share

so now i got 2 monitors 2 keyboards and 2 mouses 4 speakers all on the table in
front of me lol my mom thinks i'm nuts :agre: but i can be online with both my pc's now
so i guess i can go to pogo and chat with my self lmfao

im just slow learning this stuff and google is my friend to teach me lol

:)
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2gb Memory Winxp MCE sp3
Avast IS
Malwarebites
Superantispyware Pro
Sandboxie

User avatar
JeanInMontana
It's Mine!!
It's Mine!!
Posts: 3331
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:10 am
Location: South Central Montana
Contact:

Re: some dsl modem and router question's

Postby JeanInMontana » Wed May 21, 2008 7:11 am

The modem has a firewall it has nothing to do with router. I really don't know what the difference between the two are. I wouldn't trust the firewalls in either as your sole protection. You don't get any out going notifications, well no notifications at all. here is a down to earth definition of both.
~Think Globally * Dream Universally~Anon
ImageImageImage Donating any amount helps keep this site alive.

User avatar
lurkingatu2
I Joined Up
I Joined Up
Posts: 487
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 9:39 pm
Location: oregon

Re: some dsl modem and router question's

Postby lurkingatu2 » Wed May 21, 2008 1:40 pm

thank you :)

i understand about not trusting the hardware firewall i got OA on both pc's
and i belive in layard protection so it's just one more layar to help

this helped me alot to setup my router http://www1.linksys.com/support/troubleshoot/index.html
i can see that someone else has a wi-fi router close to me in my apt's so i
used that link to set it up better like the MAC address filtering

now i just wonder about firmware for both the modem and the router as firmware
can get me a better connection and added security but not without risk as the
upgrade can go wrong from what i read i also seen a secunia advisorie about my
router about a vulnerability but maby i should just leave them alone for now
with my luck i'll break something lol

:)
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2gb Memory Winxp MCE sp3
Avast IS
Malwarebites
Superantispyware Pro
Sandboxie

User avatar
JeanInMontana
It's Mine!!
It's Mine!!
Posts: 3331
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:10 am
Location: South Central Montana
Contact:

Re: some dsl modem and router question's

Postby JeanInMontana » Thu May 22, 2008 12:51 pm

I ran the setup CD from Qwest talked with a tech via phone, and have not messed with it since except when one modem fried in a storm.
~Think Globally * Dream Universally~Anon
ImageImageImage Donating any amount helps keep this site alive.


Return to “Migraines & Melancholy”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests