Where to set tower?

General system trouble. Software, hardware related. NOT for infection assistance.

Moderators: JeanInMontana, rockingmtranch, ShadowPuterDude, admin, MysteryFCM, Owner

grits
I Joined Up
I Joined Up
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 10:46 am
Location: Montana

Where to set tower?

Postby grits » Thu Sep 11, 2008 5:48 pm

Which is the lesser of 2 evils , on the floor where I have shag carpet , or on my desk , on the opposite side of my ashtray?

And please, I don't need a lecture on smoking in general or smoking at the puter.......I know they're both bad.

Thanx

User avatar
W3FSY
I Joined Up
I Joined Up
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 6:56 am
Location: Eastern PA

Re: Where to set tower?

Postby W3FSY » Thu Sep 11, 2008 6:33 pm

My recommendation would be to set the tower on your desk providing you have space for it. That way you will have more air flow around the tower. Sure there are fans inside your tower, but your feet are going to stir up dust and lint from your carpet, if you place it on the floor by your feet. I usually clean inside the tower around the fans using a can of compressed air about twice a year to keep the fans and other components from overheating. It will make a difference and your computer will last longer and run quieter.
:x:
RON – W3FSY
(General Class Amateur Radio Operator licensed since 1955.)

Dell Insp. 530 – Windows XP H.Ed. w/SP 3 - 320 Gb HD - 1 Gb RAM - IE 7
Online Armor 5.5.0.1616 (Free) Firewall – Avast! (Free) Antivirus v7.0.1466
MBAM v1.62.00.1300 – SUPERAntiSpyware (Free Ed.) v5.5.1012
SWB v4.6 – ATF Cleaner – Cyber Sent. v3.5.9.0 - FX v14.0.1 - BelArc Adv.

User avatar
JeanInMontana
It's Mine!!
It's Mine!!
Posts: 3331
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:10 am
Location: South Central Montana
Contact:

Re: Where to set tower?

Postby JeanInMontana » Mon Sep 15, 2008 6:00 pm

You can put tuna cans [cleaned up] under the tower and raise it off the shag, do like 4 so it's nice and stable and air gets all around. Or, but a piece of plywood and then even just pop caps will raise it enough for air to circulate.
~Think Globally * Dream Universally~Anon
ImageImageImage Donating any amount helps keep this site alive.

grits
I Joined Up
I Joined Up
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 10:46 am
Location: Montana

Re: Where to set tower?

Postby grits » Tue Sep 16, 2008 10:42 am

Thanx, Ron & Jean, your answers got me to searching & I found a stand that I've used in the past for house plants & it works perfectly with my tower on bottom shelf it's raised 7 inches off floor , then my printer sits on top shelf almost even with top of my desk & even farther away from my cig. smoke. I did have to re-position my big hulkin' monitor a bit off center of desk in order for cord to reach but I can live with that for now. Am kinda thinkin' about getting a new flat panel.......do they have longer cords?

Thank you again,
grits

User avatar
JeanInMontana
It's Mine!!
It's Mine!!
Posts: 3331
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:10 am
Location: South Central Montana
Contact:

Re: Where to set tower?

Postby JeanInMontana » Tue Sep 16, 2008 12:23 pm

You can get longer monitor cords or extensions I'm sure.
~Think Globally * Dream Universally~Anon
ImageImageImage Donating any amount helps keep this site alive.


Return to “Migraines & Melancholy”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest