My Turn

General system trouble. Software, hardware related. NOT for infection assistance.

Moderators: JeanInMontana, rockingmtranch, ShadowPuterDude, admin, MysteryFCM, Owner

User avatar
JeanInMontana
It's Mine!!
It's Mine!!
Posts: 3331
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:10 am
Location: South Central Montana
Contact:

My Turn

Postby JeanInMontana » Sat Jan 05, 2008 4:42 pm

Here's the deal. I have an 80 gig HD that is telling me it is full. I have scoured the drive deleting any and everything I can. I un-installed programs I don't use. I have run CCleaner several times. I can't find where the bloat is. I know it seriously needs a defrag, but it won't because there is not enough space on the drive.

Is it possible for the system to just start "thinking" it has a full disk? WTF is using all this space? I have no music/video files. I burned a good share of my photos and deleted the disk copies. I just can't find where the space is getting used up.
~Think Globally * Dream Universally~Anon
ImageImageImage Donating any amount helps keep this site alive.

User avatar
rockingmtranch
I Have Powah
I Have Powah
Posts: 1893
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: Meadowbrook, CA
Contact:

Postby rockingmtranch » Sat Jan 05, 2008 5:20 pm

Sounds like a misread. You get into Bios?
Linux. Don't fight it. You will be assimilated.
*******
Gulf War Vet--2nd Squadron, 2nd Armored Cavalry--Fort Polk, LA

User avatar
JeanInMontana
It's Mine!!
It's Mine!!
Posts: 3331
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:10 am
Location: South Central Montana
Contact:

Postby JeanInMontana » Sun Jan 06, 2008 2:25 am

And if I did get into BIOS?? C'mon no vague statements. Now it's telling me system restore has been shut off and there is 0 space left. This just can't be right. WTF do I do to fix it?
~Think Globally * Dream Universally~Anon
ImageImageImage Donating any amount helps keep this site alive.

User avatar
rockingmtranch
I Have Powah
I Have Powah
Posts: 1893
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: Meadowbrook, CA
Contact:

Postby rockingmtranch » Sun Jan 06, 2008 10:56 am

Sorry. I didn't know I was being vague. Thought of it as a reminder. In Bios settings, some boards will let you auto detect the hard drive and that sometimes clears this up. Also, you can set all the perimeters of the drive. But, gotta be honest, sounds like the hard drive is going capputs on ya. Just my opinion.
Linux. Don't fight it. You will be assimilated.
*******
Gulf War Vet--2nd Squadron, 2nd Armored Cavalry--Fort Polk, LA

User avatar
JeanInMontana
It's Mine!!
It's Mine!!
Posts: 3331
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:10 am
Location: South Central Montana
Contact:

Postby JeanInMontana » Sun Jan 06, 2008 3:03 pm

OMG... this drive is not that old. I still am not sure how I would do what your suggesting in BIOS. I am not well versed in hardware stuff at all. I need pictures and arrows. :rotf:
~Think Globally * Dream Universally~Anon
ImageImageImage Donating any amount helps keep this site alive.

User avatar
rockingmtranch
I Have Powah
I Have Powah
Posts: 1893
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: Meadowbrook, CA
Contact:

Postby rockingmtranch » Sun Jan 06, 2008 3:20 pm

Problem with pictures and arrows is that there are hundreds of bios out there. Your book that came with the motherboard however has all of this info (or the disk).
Linux. Don't fight it. You will be assimilated.
*******
Gulf War Vet--2nd Squadron, 2nd Armored Cavalry--Fort Polk, LA

User avatar
JeanInMontana
It's Mine!!
It's Mine!!
Posts: 3331
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:10 am
Location: South Central Montana
Contact:

Postby JeanInMontana » Sun Jan 06, 2008 11:39 pm

Yeah.... wonder where that stuff is??? I paid for a real XP CD too...wonder where that is??? :0!:
~Think Globally * Dream Universally~Anon
ImageImageImage Donating any amount helps keep this site alive.

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Runnin The Show
Runnin The Show
Posts: 570
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 8:13 pm
Location: Tyneside, UK
Contact:

Postby MysteryFCM » Mon Jan 07, 2008 4:22 am

Got back earlier than expected (she got the dates wrong ....... midwife is tomorrow).

See my reply to your e-mail ;) (found the problem ......)
Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

User avatar
JeanInMontana
It's Mine!!
It's Mine!!
Posts: 3331
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:10 am
Location: South Central Montana
Contact:

Postby JeanInMontana » Mon Jan 07, 2008 3:55 pm

For anyone following this. The problem was due to 73 GB of logs from my firewall!!! I'm not going to name it because I love the program and I am going to report this bug to the dev and I have no doubt he will fix it. It might even have been reported, I had no idea it was the root.

I am however back to 83% free space!!!
~Think Globally * Dream Universally~Anon
ImageImageImage Donating any amount helps keep this site alive.

User avatar
rockingmtranch
I Have Powah
I Have Powah
Posts: 1893
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: Meadowbrook, CA
Contact:

Postby rockingmtranch » Mon Jan 07, 2008 4:56 pm

Now THAT is a new one.Those were the exact same symptoms I had a couple hard drives back and finally gave up as 'toast'. Gonna hafta dig that out of the mothballs and check it out :D
Linux. Don't fight it. You will be assimilated.
*******
Gulf War Vet--2nd Squadron, 2nd Armored Cavalry--Fort Polk, LA

User avatar
JeanInMontana
It's Mine!!
It's Mine!!
Posts: 3331
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:10 am
Location: South Central Montana
Contact:

Postby JeanInMontana » Tue Jan 08, 2008 12:57 pm

Well I am so relieved it was something so simple. I am sure it is a bug in the program. But get this, I posted it into a thread about logs for that program and my reply was "are you using the version that logs" WTF?? How the hell would I get 73 gigs of LOGS if it didn't?? Hello??

Also Mac if you dig out the HD you thought was toast. Get in touch with Steven and have him give you the script he wrote to find the trouble. He is how I found this out. His script found the bloat on the drive and then when we knew what folder I moved the script to that folder and ran it again and it showed which program.
~Think Globally * Dream Universally~Anon
ImageImageImage Donating any amount helps keep this site alive.

User avatar
rockingmtranch
I Have Powah
I Have Powah
Posts: 1893
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: Meadowbrook, CA
Contact:

Postby rockingmtranch » Tue Jan 08, 2008 2:34 pm

I couldn't find it....wait! He wrote a script? Holy Cow......Now that is some useful knowledge I'll tell you what :D I'm torn between Accounting and C++ for my schooling now LOL. I looked into LUA but I swear it's just way over my head (however, being five foot ten, it's not that hard to do). I'm sure glad you're back in business Jean :D
Linux. Don't fight it. You will be assimilated.
*******
Gulf War Vet--2nd Squadron, 2nd Armored Cavalry--Fort Polk, LA

User avatar
JeanInMontana
It's Mine!!
It's Mine!!
Posts: 3331
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:10 am
Location: South Central Montana
Contact:

Postby JeanInMontana » Wed Jan 09, 2008 1:17 pm

I'm glad it's all fixed too. Plus the dev is going to add auto delete of logs to the program, all programs should clean up their own mess IMO.
~Think Globally * Dream Universally~Anon
ImageImageImage Donating any amount helps keep this site alive.


Return to “Migraines & Melancholy”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests